Khanal is now PM of Nepal

Yen (Kathmandu), Nepal Mandala – After an unprecedentedly long gap of six months since caretaker PM Madhav Kumar Nepal resigned in June last year, Nepalโ€™s Legislature Parliament has finally elected Jal Nath Khanal as the new Prime Minister on Thursday Pohela [Magh] 30, N.S. 1131 (February 3, 2011). Khanal, the chairman of CPN (UML) secured 368 votes against his rivals Nepali Congress leader Ram Chandra Paudel (NC) receiving 122 votes, while Madhesi Janadhikar Forum โ€“ Loktantrik chairman Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar receiving 67 votes.

Khanal got elected as the 34th Prime Minister of Nepal through a parliament voting as the largest party in the parliament, the Unified CPN (Maoist) withdrew in his support. Other parties supported his election included Rastriya Janamorcha, CPN (ML), CPN (ML-Samajwadi), Nepa Rastriya Party, Sadbhawana Party (Anandidevi), Rastriya Janmukti Party, Nepali Janata Dal and Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Manch. The Newah extends its heartiest Lasahna (congratulations) and blessings of the Lord Buddha to new PM Jal Nath Khanal wishing him a successful completion of his tenure, and the peace process and drafting of the new constitution for a new Nepal, the aspirations of the people of Nepal.

Write in the comments below how you expect him to fare.